If your review requests still go out when someone in the office remembers to send them, this is the fix. Automated review software watches for a job to close and fires the request itself, same day or the next morning, without a spreadsheet or a sticky note. We sell a lead-handling system for garage door companies, and review requests are one of the things ours does, so we are not a neutral reviewer here. What follows is what we found checking each vendor’s own pricing and terms, plus what a shop actually has to wire up to make the request fire off a real completed job instead of a guess. By the end, you will know which of the three fits a single-location shop, what each one actually costs once the add-ons are counted, and what to get in writing before you sign anything that requires a sales call.
Which one you should probably pick
For most single-location garage door shops, start with NiceJob. It is the only one of the three with published pricing, no contract, and a setup that a non-technical office person can finish in an afternoon. At $75 a month for the Reviews plan, it does exactly the one job this guide is about: send a review request when a job is marked done, and route happy customers toward Google.
Pick GatherUp instead if you want review monitoring across more than one site, an included SMS and email allotment big enough for a busier single location, and you are comfortable running the setup yourself through Zapier or the API rather than a guided onboarding call. It also scales cleanly to a second or third location later.
Consider Podium only if you already want the shared-inbox side of the business, calls, texts, webchat, and payments landing in one thread, and you are prepared to negotiate contract terms in writing before you sign anything. It is not a bad product. It is a hard one to size, price, and exit, which is exactly why it gets its own section below.
What each one actually costs
Prices below were checked directly on each vendor’s own pricing page as of August 2026. Podium does not publish pricing, so the figures shown are third-party estimates, not confirmed numbers, and are labeled as such.
| Tool | Published price (checked Aug 2026) | What it is best at | Where it gets hard |
|---|---|---|---|
| NiceJob | Reviews plan $75/mo, Pro plan $125/mo. Sites add-on $99/mo plus a $199 one-time setup fee. | Simple, fast review-request automation with no contract | No shared inbox for calls or texts, so it only covers reviews and some marketing extras, not the whole front office |
| GatherUp | Small Business $99/mo for one location, includes up to 300 SMS and 3,000 email credits a month. Multi-location $60/mo per location for 2 to 10 locations. Annual billing saves 20%. | Review monitoring across 100+ sites plus NPS surveys, at a set credit allowance | Standard-plan contract length is not stated on the pricing page itself, and overage cost past the 300 SMS credits is not disclosed either, so confirm both before signing |
| Podium | Not published. Requires a sales call. Third-party trackers (SocialPilot, Astucia, CheckThat.ai, Wiser Review) converge on roughly $399/mo for the entry tier up to $599/mo for Pro, with most small businesses reportedly landing near $450 to $600/mo after add-ons. Treat every figure here as unverified until you get a written quote. | An all-in-one inbox for calls, texts, webchat, reviews, and payments in one thread per customer | Sales-call-only pricing, reported 12-month contracts with a narrow cancellation window, and a documented pattern of billing continuing after cancellation was submitted (see the Podium section below) |
Before you start
Get these in place before you touch any vendor’s signup page.
- Access to your Google Business Profile, with owner or manager permissions. Every review-request tool routes the customer to your Google review link eventually, and you cannot connect anything without this access.
- A source of completed-job data. This is the part every vendor’s setup path glosses over. You need either a field service or CRM system the review tool can connect to (via a native integration or Zapier), or a person willing to export a completed-job list on a schedule. Neither NiceJob’s nor GatherUp’s own integration list was fully itemized on their public pages at the time we checked, so confirm your specific field service platform is supported before you buy, not after.
- A business phone number registered for texting, separate from any consumer cell number, if the review requests will go out by SMS. If you have not registered your number for A2P 10DLC yet, review-request texts can get filtered or blocked the same way any other business text can. That registration process is its own setup job.
- A decision on who reviews negative feedback before it becomes a public review. Every one of these tools routes low-star taps to a private form first. Someone on your team needs to own checking that inbox, or the private-feedback safety net does nothing.
- Fourteen days you are willing to spend on a free trial, for NiceJob or GatherUp, before you commit to a paid plan. Both offer one, and running a handful of real completed jobs through the trial is the only way to confirm the request actually fires at the right moment.
Setting up NiceJob
- Start the 14-day free trial at get.nicejob.com. No credit card is required to begin.
- Connect your Google Business Profile from inside NiceJob’s setup flow so review invites route to the correct listing and incoming reviews sync back into the dashboard.
- Connect the field service platform running your dispatch and invoicing or CRM if NiceJob supports it natively, or set up a Zapier connection between the two systems. If neither is available, plan to upload a completed-job CSV on a fixed schedule, weekly at minimum, so the gap between a real completion and a review request stays short.
- Customize the review-request message template. Keep it short and specific to the job type, a garage door spring repair and a new opener install do not need identical wording.
- Confirm the star-rating routing: four and five star taps should go to your Google review link, one through three star taps should land on a private feedback form your office actually monitors.
- If you want the social-proof widget on your company website, add it from the Sites section of the dashboard. This is a separate add-on at $99 a month plus a $199 one-time setup fee, so decide if it is worth the cost before turning it on.
- Run one real completed job through the system before rolling it out company-wide. Mark a job done in whatever system triggers the request, then confirm the customer actually gets the text or email within a reasonable window.
- Once confirmed, decide between the $75 Reviews plan and the $125 Pro plan, which adds repeat-business automation, referral campaigns, and NPS surveys. Most single-location shops only need Reviews to start.
There is no contract to negotiate here. NiceJob states plainly on its own pricing page that you are not locked in at any point during the subscription, and billing is month to month.
Setting up GatherUp
- Start the 14-day free trial at gatherup.com.
- Connect your Google Business Profile, plus any other review site you want monitored. GatherUp covers 100+ sites, which is more monitoring breadth than most single-location shops need day to day, but useful if you also care about Yelp, Facebook, or industry-specific directories.
- Set up your review-request trigger: a direct CRM or field-service connection, a Zapier automation, or a manual CSV upload, the same three options as NiceJob.
- Build your SMS and email templates. Watch your usage against the included allowance, 300 SMS and 3,000 email credits per location per month on the Small Business plan. A single-location shop closing more than roughly ten review requests a day by text alone should map out expected monthly volume before committing, since overage pricing is not published.
- Generate a QR code from the dashboard if you want a physical option for invoices, a yard sign, or the service truck, in addition to the automated text or email trigger.
- Turn on NPS surveys if you want a broader read on customer satisfaction beyond star ratings, this is included at no extra cost on the Small Business plan.
- Confirm the contract terms directly with GatherUp before paying. The pricing page states monthly or annual billing, with a 20 percent discount for paying annually, but does not spell out a minimum term for the monthly option on the page itself. Get that in writing.
- If you plan to add a second location later, note the per-location Multi-Location pricing, $60 a month per location for two to ten locations, is meaningfully cheaper per site than staying on separate Small Business plans.
Podium: the hard one
Podium is the tool most garage door companies get pitched, largely because it does more than review requests: calls, texts, webchat, and payments all land in one shared inbox alongside the review workflow. That breadth is real, and plenty of shops run it well. For the specific job this guide is about, an automated review request firing off a completed job, Podium can do it, but you are buying a much bigger product than the other two to get there, and pricing it takes a sales call: Podium’s own site does not list a dollar figure, only a form that routes you into a conversation, and third-party trackers put the range somewhere between $399 and $600 or more a month after add-ons, unconfirmed.
The part that matters more than the review-request feature itself is what happens if you decide to leave. Podium carries a documented pattern of auto-renewing annual contracts, a narrow cancellation notice window, and, per multiple community reports, provisioning your business phone number onto its own system as part of setup. All three of those affect a shop far beyond the review workflow covered here. The full breakdown, including the eight questions to get in writing before you sign anything and what the Better Business Bureau record actually shows, lives in the review software contract terms checklist; read it before a Podium sales call, not after.
What usually goes wrong
- The trigger fires off the wrong event, or nothing at all. The review tool is connected to something, but “job scheduled” or “invoice created” is not the same signal as “job actually finished and the customer is happy.” Confirm exactly which status change fires the request before you launch, not after the first complaint about a request sent for an unfinished job.
- Star-rating routing drifts into review gating. Sending every completed job the same request, with a private feedback option available regardless of the answer, is fine. Filtering who gets asked in the first place, only inviting customers your staff already believes are happy, crosses into what Google explicitly prohibits as review gating.
- Nobody owns the private-feedback inbox. The one to three star responses go somewhere. If that somewhere is a dashboard nobody checks, you have built a system that catches complaints and then ignores them, which is worse for the customer relationship than not catching them at all.
- The manual CSV fallback quietly becomes the permanent process. A field-service integration that was supposed to be step one of setup gets skipped for time, and eighteen months later the office is still exporting a spreadsheet every Friday, the exact manual workflow the tool was bought to remove.
- A contract renewal date passes unnoticed. This is specific to sales-gated tools like Podium that reportedly run auto-renewing annual terms. A missed 30 to 60-day cancellation window locks in another year regardless of whether the tool is still being used.
How to tell it is working
In week one, run at least three real completed jobs through the system, different job types if you can, a repair and a full install, and confirm the request lands within the timing window you configured: same day for a routine service call, next morning for a job that finished after the homeowner left the property. Check that the link in the message actually opens your correct Google Business Profile, not a generic landing page.
In month one, check your Google Business Profile reviews tab directly rather than trusting the vendor dashboard alone. Compare the count of completed jobs for the month against the count of review requests the tool logged as sent. A meaningful gap between those two numbers means the trigger is missing jobs, not that customers are ignoring the request. If your business texting is registered for A2P 10DLC, confirm delivery rates in the carrier reporting too, since an unregistered number can silently fail to deliver review-request texts.
If you decide the free path is enough for now instead of a paid tool, the direct Google review link and QR code guide walks through generating that link on its own. And whichever tool you land on, read the contract terms checklist before signing anything that requires a sales call, and the guide on how to respond to and flag a review once the requests start producing real feedback, since none of these tools removes a review for you.
Common questions
- Does automating review requests violate Google's rules?
- Not by itself. Google prohibits review gating, which means only inviting customers you expect to leave a positive review while routing unhappy ones elsewhere so they never get asked. Sending every eligible completed job the same request, with a private feedback option available to anyone regardless of how they answer, stays inside the policy.
- What triggers a review request if I don't have a field service platform?
- NiceJob and GatherUp both accept a manual CSV upload of completed jobs as a fallback to a live CRM or field-service integration. It works, but someone has to remember to export and upload the list, which reintroduces the exact manual step you are trying to remove.
- Why doesn't Podium publish its pricing?
- Podium requires a sales call for a quote instead of listing prices on its site. Third-party trackers report figures in the $399 to $600+ per month range, but those numbers are not confirmed by Podium itself, so treat them as a starting point for a conversation, not a real price.
Sources
Prices, limits, and requirements were checked on August 28, 2026. Vendors change these without notice, so confirm anything that affects a buying decision before you sign.
